JISC logo
Research Libraries UK logo

The Resource Discovery Taskforce is organised by the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) and JISC and Research Libraries UK support the aims of the taskforce.


  1. The purpose of the Taskforce is to focus on defining the requirements for the provision of a shared UK infrastructure for libraries, archives, museums and related resources to support education and research. The focus will be on catalogues/metadata that can assist in access to objects/resources. With a special reference to serials, books, archives/special collections, museum collections, digital repository content and other born digital content. This will interpret the shared UK infrastructure as part of global information provision.
  2. Areas will be dealt with according to their different levels of maturity.
  3. There are fundamental issues about points of connection between this and local and global provision. While the precise nature of local service provision is largely outside the scope of the Taskforce, due account will be taken of the way the shared framework can add value and positively impact service provision.

Terms of Reference

  • Gain an overview of current relevant activity and infrastructure.
  • Identify opportunities and requirements for UK further and higher education, in terms of current priorities and visions for the future.
  • Articulate how requirements should be met.
  • To consider appropriate sustainability and business models.
  • Oversee related studies and scoping work.
  • Identify how to take forward the implementation of infrastructure to meet future visions.
  • Work with key partners/stakeholders.
  • Develop a fit for purpose communications plan

Suggested outline activities for the Taskforce:The taskforce is time limited, it is proposed it runs until December 2009.



  • David Baker (Chair) – University College Plymouth St Mark & St John

Taskforce Members

  • Kevin Ashley – ULCC
  • Chris Awre – University of Hull
  • Caroline Brazier – British Library
  • Michael Breaks – Heriot-Watt University
  • Mark Brown – University of Southampton
  • Andrew Green – National Library of Wales
  • Michael Jubb – RIN
  • Alan Knox – University of Aberdeen
  • Martin Lewis – University of Sheffield
  • Mike Mertens – RLUK
  • Cate Newton – National Library of Scotland
  • Richard Ovenden – Bodleian Library
  • Fiona Parsons – University of Wolverhampton
  • David Pearson- University of London Research Library Services
  • Stephen Pinfield – University of Nottingham
  • Ian Russell – ALPSP
  • Stan Smith – Institute of Education
  • Owen Stephens – Open University
  • Paul Walk – UKOLN

JISC Executive

  • Rachel Bruce – Innovation Team
  • Catherine Grout – Innovation Team
  • Andy McGregor – Innovation Team
  • Joanna Potter – Policy Team
  • Amy Sutherland – Policy Team
  • Norman Wiseman – Services Team